36C3 – Call for Participation

➝  deutsch

The Event

The Chaos Communication Congress is the Chaos Computer Club’s (CCC) annual symposium and hacker party.

During four days between Christmas and New Year’s Eve, thousands of hackers, technology freaks, artists, and utopians get together in Leipzig to communicate, learn from each other, and party together.

The Congress is the longest running German IT security conference, the biggest European hacker gathering and grew into one of the most important conferences on digital transformation.

We focus on topics such as information technology, digital security, making, and breaking. We engage in creative, sceptical discourse on the interaction between technology and society.

Dates & deadlines

Tracks

36C3 lectures are organized by tracks, each track is curated by a team of experts in the fields. Please choose one of the tracks below when submitting.

Art + Culture Track Preview image
Art & Culture
Ethics, Politics + Society Track Preview image
Ethics, Politics & Society
Hardware Track Preview image
Hardware
Science Track Preview image
Science
Security Track Preview image
Security

Resilience & Sustainabilty

This year, we’ll put a special emphasis on submissions regarding topics that help making our planet worth living for much longer: If you’re a climate scientist, a lobbyist for the right to repair, a tinkerer scrubbing CO₂ from our atmosphere or a software programmer optimizing code or protocols to reduce their energy impact, we keep a dedicated pool of lectures just for you!

Online submissions only

Please submit your talk to our conference planning system at https://frab.cccv.de/en/36c3/cfp.

Simply follow the instructions there. If you have any questions regarding the submission, you are welcome to contact us via mail at 36c3-content(at)cccv.de.

Submission guidelines

Please send us a description of your suggested talk that is as complete as possible. The description is the main criterium for acceptance or rejection, so please ensure that it is as clear and complete as possible. Quality comes before quantity. Due to the non-commercial nature of the event, presentations which aim to market or promote commercial products or entities will be rejected without consideration.

Since most participants find (or don’t find) a lecture by its title, it’s important to keep it precise, accessible and comprehensible. Our teams will keep a keen eye on title and subtitle and make suggestions to change them if necessary, so please avoid insider jokes and stereotypes. It would be a shame if we would have to reject an otherwise excellent submission because the title does not tell much about the actual content.

As it is likely that there will be multiple submissions on the same topic, please show us exactly why your talk should be part of the conference. Remember that the teams are diversely staffed, and not every reviewer knows every submitter and their background. Please write something about yourself, your research, and your motivation. It does not matter if the talk has been held at another conference somewhere on this planet, as long as it is up to date and relevant.

Talks should be either 30 minutes long plus 10 minutes for questions and answers or 45 minutes long plus 15 minutes for questions and answers. Longer slots are possible if absolutely necessary, but should be an exception. Please take our limited amount of presentation time into consideration, check how much time you really need to bring home your points and then tell us the proposed length of your talk.

Travel, costs & visa

The Chaos Communication Congress is a non-commercial event where neither the organisers nor the speakers are being paid. As an accepted speaker for a full talk, you get free admission, though. If necessary, we are able to provide limited support for travel costs. If you need help applying for a visa, such as an official invitation to present to the German embassy, please make sure to let the content team know well in advance. Please be aware that the visa application procedure may take up to six weeks.

36C3 – Call for Participation

➝  english

Das Event

Der Chaos Communication Congress ist die jährliche Konferenz und Hackerparty des Chaos Computer Clubs (CCC).

An vier Tagen zwischen Weihnachten und Neujahr kommen tausende Hacker, Technikfreaks, Bastler, Künstler, Utopisten oder einfach Interessierte in Leipzig zusammen, um sich auszutauschen, sich zuzuhören, voneinander zu lernen und miteinander zu feiern.

Der Congress ist inzwischen die traditionsreichste deutsche IT-Sicherheitskonferenz, die größte europäische Zusammenkunft der Hackerszene und die wichtigste digitale Gesellschaftskonferenz.

Wir beschäftigen uns mit Themen rund um Informationstechnologie, Netze, Computersicherheit, der Make-Szene, dem kritisch-schöpferischen Umgang mit Technologie und deren Auswirkungen auf unsere Gesellschaft.

Termine & Deadlines

Tracks

Die Vorträge auf dem 36C3 sind in Tracks gegliedert, jeder Track wird betreut von einem Kuratorenteam bestehend aus Experten im Feld. Wählt bei der Einreichung den zutreffendsten Track für das Thema.

Art + Culture Track Preview image
Art & Culture
Ethics, Politics + Society Track Preview image
Ethics, Politics & Society
Hardware Track Preview image
Hardware
Science Track Preview image
Science
Security Track Preview image
Security

Resilience & Sustainabilty

In diesem Jahr legen wir besonderes Augenmerk auf Einreichungen, die sich mit all den Themen auseinandersetzen, die unseren Planeten länger lebenswert halten: Wenn Du Klimaforscher bist, Lobbyist für ein Recht auf Basteln und Reparieren, Bastler mit einem CO₂-Bürstewerkzeug oder Programmierer, der durch Optimierung von Software und Protokollen den Energie-Fußabdruck von Systemen drücken kann, dann her mit Deinem Vortrag! Wir halten einen eigenen Pool von Vortragsslots eigens hierfür vor.

Nur Online-Einreichungen

Alle Vortragsvorschläge werden über unser Konferenz-Planungssystem eingereicht, das sich unter folgender Adresse befindet: https://frab.cccv.de/de/36c3/cfp.

Bitte folge den Anweisungen, die sich dort finden. Wenn es Fragen bezüglich der Einreichung gibt, kannst Du uns unter der E-Mailadresse 36c3-content(at)cccv.de erreichen.

Submission guidelines

Bitte schicke uns eine sinnvolle, möglichst vollständige, aber nicht übermäßig lange Beschreibung Deines geplanten Vortrags. Diese Beschreibung hat einen großen Einfluss auf die Auswahl und sollte aussagekräftig sein. Qualität geht natürlich vor Quantität. Es ist nicht sinnvoll, Firmen- oder Produktpropaganda einzureichen, auch nicht verdeckte. Marketing- und Sales-Droiden verschwinden bekanntermaßen von dieser Veranstaltung, ohne eine Spur zu hinterlassen. Wir wollen einen kommerzfreien Congress gestalten.

Da die meisten Teilnehmer hauptsächlich über den Titel auf Vorträge stoßen, sollte dieser verständlich, prägnant und für den Inhalt relevant sein. Die Track-Teams werden darauf ein besonderes Augenmerk legen und bei Bedarf helfen. Wir behalten uns vor, bei Insider-Witzen in den Titeln Änderungsvorschläge zu machen und im Zweifel auch einen an sich guten Vortrag wegen unverständlichen Titels abzulehnen.

Da die Chance besteht, dass mehrere Leute einen Talk zum gleichen oder ähnlichen Thema einreichen, zeige uns bitte ganz genau, warum ausgerechnet Dein Talk dabei sein sollte – denke daran, dass die Teams divers besetzt sind und nicht alle Kuratoren alle Einreichenden und deren Hintergrund kennen. Es kann hilfreich sein, bei der Einreichung etwas über Dich selbst, Deine Forschung oder Deine Motivation zu schreiben. Es ist uns vollkommen egal, ob der Talk schon einmal auf einer anderen Konferenz irgendwo auf dem Planeten stattgefunden hat. Wir bitten nur darum, dass der Inhalt aktuell ist.

Vorträge können entweder 30 Minuten plus 10 Minuten für Fragen und Antworten oder 45 Minuten plus 15 Minuten für Fragen und Antworten lang sein. Ausnahmen bestätigen die Regel. Bitte überlege genau, wie lange Du wirklich für einen prägnanten Vortrag brauchen wirst, und teile uns bei der Einreichung mit, wie lang Dein Vortrag dauern soll.

Eintritt, Fahrtkosten & Visum

Der Chaos Communication Congress ist ein nicht-kommerzielles Event. Weder die Organisierenden und die vielen Helfenden noch die Vortragenden werden für ihre Teilnahme bezahlt. Als Vortragender bekommst Du allerdings freien Eintritt. Bei Bedarf ist es möglich, finanzielle Unterstützung für Fahrtkosten zu beantragen. Benötigst Du Hilfe beim Beantragen eines Visums, zum Beispiel in Form einer offiziellen Einladung zur Vorlage bei einer Deutschen Botschaft, sage dem Content-Team bitte schnellstmöglich Bescheid. Bitte denke daran, dass die Bearbeitung bis zu sechs Wochen dauern kann.